Thoughts on Ephesians (Part 1)

I don’t know, sometimes I think God might’ve made a mistake sending Jesus to die for me. 

Like, I don’t get it. 

I feel like He got me mixed up with the wrong person. 

And to tell the truth, maybe it wasn’t worth it. 

But then, I guess, that even if I feel I don’t deserve Him, which I don’t, it isn’t really for me to decide.

I suppose the most important thing is that Jesus thought I was worth dying for. 

I suppose that’s all that should matter really.

You know, the fact that He chose to lay down His life for us, when He didn’t have to.

The fact that He chose to freely love and impart His grace to us, when He had nothing to gain.

And the crazy thing is that if He had to, He’d do it all over again.

Without hesitation. Somehow.

There’s no measure that can be placed on His love.

He demonstrated going to the greatest length, to have your heart.

Dying on a cross, to save the world — the most selfless act in all of history.

When it comes to you, me, everyone, He’s all in. 

His love leaves the 99 to go after the 1. 

His love thought you were worth dying for.

Sometimes I forget that. 

Or maybe I don’t, but struggle to accept it.

Because why, why would He do that? 

But, once we do accept it, what’s next?

And honestly, maybe we aren’t even at this point yet, because truthfully, I’m not either.

But I think, at the very least, it’s worth considering the life available for all us, if we have Christ.

I think Paul’s letter to the church in Ephesus begins to answer that.

In his letter, he is instructing and encouraging the Church that it represents one body in Christ. He also aimed to highlight what it means to live a Christian life (distancing oneself from their old life and living differently, now that they belong to Christ) and to prioritise God and His Glory. He also sheds light on the many spiritual blessings that we now have access to, having accepted Christ.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

  1. Thought provoking….I don’t know why He did it…most days I know I’m not worth that kind of sacrifice…but I’m so very glad He died for me.

    Like

  2. Awesome stuff Shane. Important for us to remember God believes we are worth something and he created US in his image…. 🙏

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started